2016 Silmaril Award for Best Redemption Story

At the beginning of 2019, my computer crashed, and I lost all my posts. We’re talking YEARS of content gone. This is one of those posts and since it’s kind of important to the Silmaril Awards, I needed to repost it.  And just in time too as we are gearing up for the 2019 Silmaril Awards!! Keep an eye on the horizon!

If you’d like to learn more or see previous awards, please visit The Silmaril Awards.

So without further ado:

The 2016 Best Redemption Story Silmaril

He once tasted the bitter depths of darkness and wept. But he did not remain in such disgrace. Far be it! He rose to fight that others might live and he paid the ultimate price to do so.

Eldest son of Denethor II. Steward Prince of Gondor, Captain and High Warden of the White Tower. Valiant Warrior. Please welcome, Boromir!

Your words are too kind for a man like me, nevertheless, I am honored to present the 2016 Silmaril award for Best Redemption Story.


One does not simply give this award to just any story. No. This jewel can only go to one that demonstrates the great transformation of a character’s life. A character, misguided or otherwise, from the lowest of lows to the glorious heights of victory, displaying integrity and virtue, even if one’s victory is but celebrated beyond the grave.

The 2016 Best Redemption Story Silmaril, as voted on by you, goes to

Edmund Pevensie of The Chronicles of Narnia!

Thank you Boromir! And thank you, dear readers, for joining us!

And if you would like to see the final nominated candidates and the votes went, here you go!

Edmund (The Lion, Witch, and the Wardrobe) 45 / 37%
Eustace Clarence Scrubb (The Voyage of the Dawn Treader) 28 / 23%
Kalmar Wingfeather (Wingfeather Saga) 24 / 20%
Jace (The Ilyon Chronicles) 13 / 11%
Prince Lionheart (Tales of Goldstone Wood) 12 / 10%